Know India
This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

National Archives of India

The National Archives of India (NAI) (External website that opens in a new window), New Delhi known until Independence as Imperial Record Department was originally established in Kolkata on 11 March 1891. It is the official custodian of all non-current record of permanent value to the Government of India and its predecessor bodies. It has a Regional Office at Bhopal and three Record Centres at Bhubaneswar, Jaipur and Pondicherry.

Major activities of the Archives include:

  • Making public records accessible to various Government agencies and research scholars
  • Preparation of reference media
  • Preservation and maintenance of records and conducting of scientific investigations for the said purpose
  • Evolving records management programmes
  • Rendering technical assistance to individuals and institutions in the field of conservation of records
  • Imparting training in the field of archives administration, records management, reprography, repair and conservation of records, books and manuscripts at professional and sub-professional levels and
  • Creation and promotion of archival consciousness in the country by organising thematic exhibitions.
The National Archives of India provides financial assistance to States/Union Territories Archives, Voluntary Organisations and other custodial institutions, so that the documentary heritage is preserved and archival science is promoted.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team Reviewed on: 16-03-2011