Know India
This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Central Secretariat Library

The Central Secretariat Library (CSL) (External website that opens in a new window) originally known as Imperial Secretariat Library, Kolkata was established in 1891. Since 1969 the Library has been housed at Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi. It has a collection of over seven lakh documents mainly on Social Sciences and Humanities. It is a depository of Indian Official Documents, Central Government and has a strong collection of State Government documents also.

The collection of Area Studies Division is unique in which books have been arranged according to geographical area. Besides this, its biographical collection is very large and has an extremely rich rare book collection.

The CSL is a Microfilm repository under Microfilming of Indian Publication Project (MIPP) having large number of microfilm collection.

The CSL is mainly responsible for overall collection and development on all subjects useful in policy decision-making process and is also responsible to build its collection on developmental literature. It provides all possible readers' services to Central Government Officials and other research scholars visiting the Library from all over India. In the recent past CSL has undertaken the development of IT based products by digitising the Government of India Gazette, Committee and Commission Reports and has also developed the OPAC system for its collection.

The Library has two branches, namely, Hindi and Regional Languages Wing popularly known as Tulsi Sadan Library, Bahawalpur House, New Delhi that houses about 1.9 lakh volumes of Hindi and 13 other constitutionally approved Indian Regional Language books and a Text Book Library located at R.K. Puram, New Delhi which caters to the needs of wards of Central Government Employees of Under Graduate level.

The CSL has recently launched, a portal "India Information Gateway" and its Web Site www.csl.nic (External website that opens in a new window).in was inaugurated by Secretary, Ministry of Culture on 21 March 2005.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 19-01-2011