This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Coast Guards

The Indian Coast Guard (ICG) was established as an independent service on August 19, 1978 as per the Coast Guard Act, 1978. Since its inception, the Coast Guard has acquired a wide range of platforms both surface and airborne to undertake the assigned tasks during peace time and to supplement the efforts of Indian Navy during war.

The command and control of the Coast Guard rests with the Director General of Indian Coast Guard at New Delhi. The Organisation has four Regional Headquarters i.e. Mumbai, Chennai, Gandhinagar and Port Blair. The four Regional Headquarters exercise command and control in the waters adjoining the entire coastline of India, through 11 Coast Guard District Headquarters.

The duties of Coast Guard include:

  • Ensuring the safety and protection of artificial islands, offshore terminals, installations and other structures and devices in Maritime Zones;
  • Providing protection to fishermen, including assistance to them at sea while in distress;
  • Taking such measures as are necessary to preserve and protect the maritime environment and to prevent and control marine pollution;
  • Assisting the customs and other authorities in anti-smuggling operations;
  • Enforcing the provisions of such enactments as are for the time being in force in the maritime zones; and
  • such other matters, including measures for the safety of life and property at sea and collection of scientific data, as may be prescribed.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 17-01-2011