This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

National Cadet Corps

The National Cadet Corps (NCC) - External website that opens in a new window was established under the NCC Act, 1948. It has completed 60 years of existence. The NCC strives to provide the youth of the country opportunities for all round development with a sense of commitment, dedication, self-discipline and moral values, so that they become useful citizens of tomorrow. The total sanctioned strength of NCC cadets is 13 Lakhs. The NCC's presence extends to 606 districts of the country covering 8,454 schools and 5,377 colleges.

Director General, NCC located at New Delhi controls and overseas various activities of the NCC through 16 NCC Directorates spread across the country. There is a Central Advisory Committee for the NCC to provide overall policy guidelines. NCC is manned by the service personnel, Whole Time Lady Officers, teachers/professors and civilians. One lecturer/ teacher in each educational institution is appointed Associate NCC officer.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 17-01-2011