This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Central Reserve Police Force

The Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) (External website that opens in a new window) is an Armed Force of the Union of India for internal security management. This Force was raised in 1939 at Nimuch (MP) as the Crown Representative's Police and was renamed as the Central Reserve Police Force in 1949.

At present, CRPF has 191 Battalions including Rapid Action Force (RAF). The Force remained committed to internal security and counter insurgency-cum-antiterrorist operations in various parts of the country. This is a Force with ladies contingents organised in two Mahila Battalions.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 17-01-2011