This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

University Grants Commission

The University Grants Commission (UGC) (File referring to external site opens in a new window) which came into existence on 28 December 1953 became a statutory organisation by an Act of Parliament in 1956. It is a national body for the coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of university education. It serves as a coordinating body between the Union and State Governments and the institutions of higher learning. It also acts as an advisory body to these Governments and institutions on issues relating to higher education.

Section 12 of the UGC Act provides that the Commission shall, in consultation with the universities concerned, take all such steps as it may think fit for the promotion and coordination of university education and for the maintenance of standards in teaching, examination and research. To teaching and research, extension was added as the third dimension of education by the Commission. For the purpose of performing its functions, the Commission may allocate and disburse, out of the Fund of the Commission, grants to universities and colleges for their maintenance and development; advise the Union Government, State Governments and Institutions of higher learning on the measures necessary for the promotion of university education and make Rules and Regulations consistent with the Act, etc. The Commission consists of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and 10 other members appointed by the Government of India. The executive head is Secretary.

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has its Regional Offices at Hyderabad, Pune, Bhopal, Kolkata, Guwahati and Bangalore. The Northern Regional Office which was earlier located at Ghaziabad has now been functioning from the UGC Head Quarters as Northern Regional Colleges Bureau (NRCB). The UGC has taken up some new initiatives, viz.

  • Promotion of Entrepreneurship and knowledge based enterprises.
  • Protection of Intellectual Property Rights.
  • Promotion of Indian Higher Education abroad.
  • Training and development of Academic Administrators.
  • Comprehensive Computerisation Initiative.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 19-01-2011