This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan

The Government approved the scheme of Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan in 1962, on the recommendations of the Second Pay Commission. Initially, 20 regimental schools in different States were taken over as Central Schools. In 1965, an Autonomous Body called Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan was established with the primary objective of setting-up and monitoring Kendriya Vidyalayas to cater to the educational needs of the children of transferable Central Government Employees including Defence Personnel and Para-Military forces by providing common programme of education. At present, there are 931 Kendriya Vidyalayas (as on 17 June 2005) out of which three Kendriya Vidyalayas are based abroad i.e., one each in Kathmandu, Moscow and Tehran. All Kendriya Vidyalayas follow a uniform syllabus.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 19-01-2011