This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Central Board of Direct Taxes

Since 1 January 1964 the Central Board of Direct Taxes (External website that opens in a new window) (CBDT) has been charged with all matters relating to various direct taxes in India and it derives its authority from Central Board of Revenue Act 1963. The CBDT is a part of Department of Revenue in the Ministry of Finance. On one hand, CBDT provides essential inputs for policy and planning of direct taxes in India, at same time it is also responsible for administration of direct tax laws through Income Tax Department.

The Chairman, who is also an ex-officio Special Secretary to Government of India, heads the CBDT. In addition, CBDT has six Members, who are ex-officio Additional Secretaries to Government of India. The Chairman and Members of CBDT are selected from Indian Revenue Service (IRS), a premier civil service of India, whose members constitute the top management of Income Tax Department. The support staff for CBDT is drawn from IRS as well as other premier civil services of the country and is assisted by several attached offices.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 29-04-2011