This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Capitals Market

Reserve Bank of India

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) was established under the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934 (File referring to external site opens in a new window) on 1st April 1935 and nationalised on 1 January 1949. The Bank is the sole authority for issue of currency in India other than one-rupee coins and subsidiary coins. As the agent of the Central Government, the Reserve Bank undertakes distribution of one-rupee coin as well as small coins issued by the Government. The Bank acts as banker to the Central Government, and State Governments by virtue of agreements entered into with them. The Reserve Bank also handles the borrowing programme of the Central and State Governments. It formulates and administers monetary policy with a view to ensuring price stability while promoting higher production in the real sector through proper deployment of credit. The RBI plays an important role in maintaining orderly conditions in the foreign exchange market and acts as an agent of the Government in respect of India’s membership of International Monetary Fund. The Reserve Bank also performs a variety of developmental and promotional functions. The Reserve bank also regulates and supervises commercial banking system, urban co-operative banks and non-banking financial sector.

The Reserve Bank's affairs are governed by a central board of directors. The board is appointed by the Government of India in keeping with the Reserve Bank of India Act.

  • Appointed/nominated for a period of four years
  • Constitution
    • Official Directors
      • Full-time: Governor and not more than four Deputy Governors
    • Non-Official Directors
      • Nominated by Government: ten Directors from various fields and one government Official
      • Others: four Directors - one each from four local boards

Securities and Exchange Board of India

The Securities and Exchange Board of India was established on April 12, 1992 in accordance with the provisions of the Securities and Exchange Board of India Act, 1992.

The National Stock Exchange of India Ltd. is the largest stock exchange of the country. NSE is setting the agenda for change in the securities markets in India. The last 5 years have seen us play a major role in bringing investors from 363 cities and towns online, ensuring complete transparency, introducing financial guarantee of settlements, ensuring scientifically designed and professionally managed indices and by nurturing the dematerialization effort across the country.

NSE is a complete capital market prime mover. Its wholly-owned subsidiaries, National Securities Clearing Corporation Ltd. (NSCCL) provides clearing and settlement of securities, India Index Services and Products Ltd. (IISL) provides indices and index services with a consulting and licensing agreement with Standard & Poor's (S&P), and NSE.IT Ltd. forms the technology strength that NSE works on.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 27-01-2011