This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)


The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), established on 3 August 1954 is engaged in the development of nuclear power technology, applications of radiation technologies in the fields of agriculture, medicine, industry, and basic research.

  • Increasing the share of nuclear power through deployment of indigenous and other proven technologies and also developing fast breeder reactors and thorium reactors with associated fuel cycle facilities;
  • Building and operation of research reactors for production of radioisotopes and carrying out radiation technology applications in the field of medicine, agriculture and industry;
  • Developing advanced technologies such as accelerators, lasers etc. and encouraging transfer of technology to industry;
  • Support to basic research in nuclear energy and related frontier areas of science, interaction with universities and academic institutions, support to R&D projects having a bearing on DAE's programmes and international co-operation in related areas of research; and
  • Contribution to national security.

An integrated group of organizations, the Department comprises five research centres, three Industrial Organisations, five Public Sector Undertakings and three Service Organisations. It has two Boards for promoting and funding extramural research in nuclear and allied fields, and mathematics.

It also supports seven institutes of international repute, engaged in research in basic sciences, astronomy, astrophysics, cancer research, education etc. and a society that provides educational facilities to the children of DAE employees.

Following is the profile of DAE's achievements and activities under its major programmes.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 09-02-2011