This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

National Water Resources Council

National Water Resources Council was set up by the Government of India in March 1983. The Prime Minister is the Chairman, Union Minister of Water Resources is the Vice-Chairman, and Minister of State for Water Resources, concerned Union Ministers/ Ministers of State, Chief Ministers of all States & Lieutenant Governors/ Administrators of the Union Territories are the Members. Secretary, Ministry of Water Resources is the Secretary of the Council.

National Water Board

The Government of India constituted a National Water Board in September, 1990 under the Chairmanship of Secretary, Ministry of Water Resources to review the progress achieved in implementation of the National Water Policy and to report the progress to the National Water Resources Council from time to time. The Secretaries of Union Ministries of Agriculture, Rural Development, Urban Development, Surface Transport, Environment & Forests, Planning and Science & Technology, Chairman, Central Water Commission, Chief Secretaries of all States/Union Territories are its Members and Member (Water Planning & Projects), Central Water Commission is the Member Secretary. The 10th meeting of National Water Board was held on 18th September 2009.

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 17-02-2011