This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Co-operative Structure in India

The National Cooperative Union of India (NCUI) (External website that opens in a new window), established in 1929, is the apex organisation of the Indian Cooperative Movement. Its primary objective is to promote and develop the movement, by educating, guiding& assisting inter-cooperative relations and coordination to enable the functioning of the sector as a whole.

The consumer co-operative structure in the country has four tiers. The National Co-operative Consumers Federation of India Ltd. (NCCF) (External website that opens in a new window) at the national level oversees State Co-operative Consumers Organisations affiliated to it. At the Wholesale level, there are Consumer Co-operative Stores which further source the Primary level stores. In the villages, Primary Agricultural Credit Societies and Marketing Societies undertake the distribution of consumer goods along with their normal business. While in urban and semi-urban areas, consumer co-operative societies operate retail outlets to meet the requirements of the consumers.

The main objective of the NCCF is to provide supply support to consumer co-operatives and other distributing agencies for distribution of consumer goods at reasonable and affordable rates besides rendering technical guidance and assistance for strengthening consumer co-operative societies engaged in retail activities. It further has 24 branches/sub-branches (External website that opens in a new window) located in various parts of the country.

The Federation takes active participation in promoting the following sectors:

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 11-03-2011