This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Travel By Sea

India is a large peninsula bounded by sea on three sides, and is blessed with a long coastline extending to more than 7500 kilometres. To the east lies the Bay of Bengal, the Arabian Sea lies to the west, and the Indian Ocean lies to the south.

Some of these States and Union Territories of India, lying along the coast, operate regular transportation services and scenic tours between various points. Traveling on the blue waters enveloping the Indian subcontinent is an experience to be cherished. Regular passenger ships are available in most of the coastal states. Sea journey is mostly used to reach the Lakshadweep Islands in the Arabian Sea, and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands in the Bay of Bengal. Both these islands are a part of the Indian subcontinent, and are also well connected by airways. A sea journey can also be undertaken to travel between the different port cities of the Country. Apart from taking a journey by sea, you can also hire a ship for fun trips in the blue waters.

There are nine Indian states and three Union Territories, which are situated along the coast. These are:

  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  • Goa
  • Gujarat
  • Kerala
  • Karnataka
  • Maharashtra
  • Odisha
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Puducherry
  • Daman and Diu
  • Lakshadweep Islands

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Reviewed on: 24-05-2011