This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Detailed Profile: Shri Kalva Kuntla Chandrasekhar Rao

NameShri Kalva Kuntla Chandrasekhar Rao
Constituency from which I am electedMahabubnagar
Father's NameShri Raghava Rao
Mother's NameSmt. Venkatamma
Date of Birth17 Feb 1954
Birth PlaceChintamadaka, Distt. Medak (Andhra Pradesh)
Maritial StatusMarried
Date of Marriage 23 Apr 1969
Spouse NameSmt. Shobha
No. of ChildrenNo.of Sons:1   No.of Daughters:1
State NameAndhra Pradesh
Party NameTelangana Rashtra Samithi
Permanent Address8-2-220-110/1/3, Road No. 14,Banjara Hills, Hyderabad Andhra PradeshTels. (040) 23555798, 09490334567 (M)
Present Address23, Tughlaq Road,New Delhi -110 011Tels. (011) 23795092, 9868180246 (M)
Email id
Educational QualificationsM.A. (Literature) Educated at Osmania University, Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh
Positions Held
1985-2004Member, Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly (four terms)
1987-88Minister of State, Govt. of Andhra Pradesh
1992-93Chairman, Committee on Public Undertakings
1997-99Cabinet Minister, Govt. of Andhra Pradesh
1999-2001Deputy Speaker, Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly
2004Elected to 14th Lok Sabha
2004-06Union Cabinet Minister, Labour and Employment
23 Sept. 2006Resigned from Lok Sabha
7 Dec. 2006Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha in bye-election
3 March 2008Resigned from Lok Sabha
2009Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
Leader, Telangana Rashtra Samithi Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
31 Aug. 2009Member, Committee on Energy
23 Sept. 2009Member, Rules Committee
Social and Cultural ActivitiesInvolved in social work and strived for the upliftment of downtrodden and poor; some of the works undertaken include, (i) Massive free plantation scheme worth one crore rupees, undertaken in Karimnagar in 2004; (ii) construction of several homes for muslim minorities; (iii) supply of drinking water to 145 habitants affected by floods in Siddiepet constituency
Special InterestsWriting and service to the poor
Favourite Pastimes and RecreationReading and playing badminton

Source: Lok Sabha