This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Detailed Profile: Shri Narendra Singh Tomar

NameShri Narendra Singh Tomar
Constituency from which I am electedMorena
Father's NameShri Munshi Singh Tomar
Mother's NameSmt. Sharda Devi Tomar
Date of Birth12 Jun 1957
Birth PlaceVill. Murar, Distt. Gwalior (Madhya Pradesh)
Maritial StatusMarried
Date of Marriage-NA-
Spouse NameSmt. Kiran Tomar
No. of ChildrenNo.of Sons:2   No.of Daughters:1
State NameMadhya Pradesh
Party NameBharatiya Janata Party
Permanent AddressB-144, Professor Colony,Bhopal, Madhya PradeshTel. (0755) 2660416
Present Address24, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road,New Delhi - 110 001Tels. (011) 23015544, 23015545 9013180134 (M)
Email idns[dot]tomar[at]sansad[dot]nic[dot]in
Educational QualificationsGraduate Educated at Jiwaji University, Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh
Positions Held
1980 - 1984President, Bharatiya Janata Party Youth Forum (BJPYF), Gwalior
1983-87Councillor, Municipal Corporation, Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh
1984 - 1985Pradesh Mantri, BJPYF, Madhya Pradesh
1986 - 1990State Vice-President, BJPYF, Madhya Pradesh
1991 - 1996State President, BJPYF, Madhya Pradesh
1998-2008Member, Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly (two terms)
2003-2007Cabinet Minister,Govt. of Madhya Pradesh
20 Nov. 2006 till daPresident, BJP, Madhya Pradesh
Jan. 2009- May 2009Member, Rajya Sabha
2009Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
31 Aug. 2009Member, Committee on Chemicals and Fertilizers
Social and Cultural ActivitiesOrganising social, spiritual and cultural functions
Special InterestsHelping poor, blood donation camps and plantation
Sports and ClubsPresident, Darpan Sport Sansthan, Gwalior
Favourite Pastimes and RecreationWatching movies
Countries VisitedAustria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Netherland, Switzerland, U.A.E. and U.K.
Other InformationPresident , (i) Students Union, Govt. College, Murar, 1979-80; (ii) BJPYF Gwalior, 1980-84; (iii) Pradesh Mantri BJPYF, Madhya Pradesh, 1984-85; State Vice-President , BJPYF, Madhya Pradesh, 1986-90; and State President , BJPYF, Madhya Pradesh, 1991-96

Source: Lok Sabha