This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)

Detailed Profile: Shri Joy Abraham

NameShri Joy Abraham
Father's NameShri M.C. Ittyavirah
Mother's NameShrimati Chinnamma Ittyavirah
Date of Birth07/03/1951
Birth PlaceBharananganam, Distt. Kottayam (Kerala)
Maritial Status Married On 18 August 1975
Spouse NameShrimati Valsamma Joy
No. of Childrenone Daughter One Son
State NameKerala
Party NameKerala Congress (M)
Permanent AddressMazhuvannoor House, Melampara P.O., Bharananganam, Kottayam. 686578
Present Address
Email idjoyabraham[dot]mp[at]sansad[dot]nic[dot]in
Educational QualificationsB.A., LL.B. Educated at St. Thomas College, Pala and Law Academy, Law College, Thiruvananthapuram
ProfessionAdvocate, Political and Social Worker
Positions Held 1991-96 Member, Kerala Legislative Assembly Whip, Kerala Congress (M) Legislature. Party, Kerala Legislative Assembly Member, Committee for the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, Kerala Legislative Assembly Member, Subject Committee for Home Affairs, Kerala Legislative Assembly 1994 Member, Select Committee for Kerala Panchayath Raj and Nagar Palika Bill, 1994, Kerala Legislative Assembly July 2012 Elected to Rajya Sabha Aug. 2012 onwards Member, Committee on Information Technology
Freedom FighterNo
Books Published
Social and Cultural Activities, Literary, Artistic and Scientific Accomplishments and other Special Interests
Sports, Clubs, Favourite Pastimes and RecreationAs a student, was involved in sports and was Junior Champion at St. Thomas College, Pala, 1967-68; watching movies and picnics
Countries Visited
Other InformationAs a member of the Kerala Students Congress (K.S.C.) State Executive Committee, was involved in students politics during college days; played a major role in organising the Kerala Youth Front (K.Y.F.); held various positions in the K.Y.F. including General- Secretary, K.Y.F. State Committee and State Captain, Kerala Yuva Sena; has held various offices in the Kerala Congress (M); General- Secretary, State Committee, Keraka Congress (M) since 1997; Member, High Power Committee, United Democratic Front (U.D.F.); was actively involved in the cooperative movement; was Director, (i) The Bharananganam Service Coopertive Bank, (ii) The Meenachil Agricultural and Rural Development Bank, (iii) The Meenachil Rubber Marketing and Processing Cooperative Society and (iv) The Kerala State Cooperative Tyre Factory Ltd.; presently working as Vice-President, Kerala State Cooperative Rubber Marketting Federation Ltd.; was Founder General Secretary, Kerala Catholic Youth Movement (K.C.Y.M.), 1978-79

Source: Rajya Sabha