This page in Hindi (External website that opens in a new window)



Passport is issued to an Indian Citizens as a travel document of their identity such as name, date of birth, sex, and place of birth and Nationality by the Consular Passport and Visa (CPV) Division, which comes under the Ministry of External Affairs. The Passport is issued under the Passports Act, 1967 and can be issued from more than 37 RPO's/PO's across India and over 170 Indian missions abroad.

Types of Indian Passport

There are three types of Indian Passport, which are:

  • Regular Passport has a Navy Blue cover and is issued for ordinary travel, such as vacations and business trips.
  • Diplomatic Passport has a Maroon cover and is issued to Indian diplomats, top ranking government officials and diplomatic couriers.
  • Official Passport has a White cover and it is issued to individuals representing the Indian government on official business.

Indian passport can be applied on two ways, one is through online application where applicant can submit its online application and get prior appointment for personal appearance with the required documents and in second case applicant can directly obtain form from the designated Passport seva Kendra in the city and can submit the filled in application form directly along with proof of residence, date of birth, change of name, documents for ECNR, passport size photographs etc.

All self-attested copies of certificates/documents would be checked against originals at the Passport Office at the time of submission of application. The normal time taken for issuance of a passport is five to six weeks. However in case of an emergency you can apply for a fresh or duplicate passport under the 'Tatkaal' scheme.

This allows passports to be issued on payment of additional fee over and above the normal passport application fee. The 'Tatkaal' Scheme would only be applicable in cases where either the police verification report is not required (minors less than 15 years of age) or where a passport can be issued on post police verification basis (duplicate passport/re-issue of passport without change in address, Government servants with NOC and their spouses and applications with Verification Certificates).

Source: National Portal Content Management Team, Last Reviewed on:02-05-2012